Bank Holiday Weekend

This weekend in Greece is a bank holiday weekend. It also happens to coincide with my islands turn to host the Greek Biker Rally. Oh my God what a nightmare. I have nothing against bikers, nothing at all but the noise from this lot is ridiculous. It really isn’t helping my concentration.

It started on Thursday as the first lot of bikers arrived on the island. They came off the ferry hooting their horns and revving their engines all along the harbour front. I live just above the harbour and the sound carries something terrible. As each ferry came in more and more arrived and this usually peaceful island is ruined. I feel sorry for anyone who landed on Friday for their first holiday in Skiathos, what on earth must they think? It isn’t always like this but they wont know that.

So for three days the sounds coming from the harbour are reminiscent of the Isle of Man TT races. The noise is constant even through the night. The revving of the engines must be burning a whole lot of petrol, the islands garages must be making a fortune!

The rally is supposed to be finishing tomorrow so hopefully on Monday most of the bikers will have left for their homes elsewhere in Greece and normality will resume here. Until then I continue to sit and stare at my computer, concentration breaking every few seconds, and pray I get enough work done to justify the time spent just sitting here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment